1 Comment

The Wheels on the Bus…

Somehow, we went from Day 1 of Midyear to Day 4. That is the essence of Midyear though. It’s so packed with great networking, learning, sharing, etc, that there isn’t much time for reflection, sleep, or eating even for me. My pants are already hanging off of me, and I had to buy a belt in the gift shop they are so loose. I could have worse problems, certainly.

Right now, I can’t even recap all that I did, saw, thought about, etc. I hope I made good notes. I would like to say that I learned an awful lot at the Exhibit Hall. Since I am in a residency right now, and not yet looking for a specific job, it allows me the freedom to ask truly any question I want of any vendor. No need to target specific people. I learned about Carefusion and their philosophy (btw, Don is just a really neat guy). I spoke with: the Commission for Certification in Geriatric Pharmacy and learned about their resources; the International Journal of Pharmaceutical Compounding, where I was told that compounding is a $25 billion a year industry; KLAS about their performance reports on many of the most used vendors in the hospital industry; and FFF Enterprises about some of their services, and I got a beautiful calendar from them (one of the FEW free items I am taking home). I had great talks with: Becky Harvey at Envision Telepharmacy about their product and some of the drawbacks of CPOE; Scott Wolter of Natural Standard about the revamping of their website and what they have to offer, as well as Davis Square, where they are based, since I used to live right there; Lea Collins with Health Connect Partners, a company that provides a different way for providers and suppliers to interact; and the folks with AHRQ (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality) about the numerous resources, including grants, they have to offer patients and providers alike; and with Jennifer Athay from AACP (American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy) about the far-reaching influence you can have as a professor/preceptor/researcher. Additionally, I talked with folks about additional degrees one might get, such as the MS in Pharmacy from University of Florida, which is focused on Pharmaceutical Outcomes and Policy (POP), and the FDA/CDER & UF/POP Graduate Program in Pharmaceutical Outcomes and Policy, which grants you a PhD.

That doesn’t even cover the numerous sessions I attended, the poster presenters I talked with, the residency programs I visited, or the casual conversations I had with people outside of the conference.

The wheels in my head are turning so fast, I can hardly keep up, and it’s a great thing!

One comment on “The Wheels on the Bus…

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Amy Baker, Amy Baker. Amy Baker said: The Wheels on the Bus…: http://wp.me/p14kZG-3R […]

Leave a Reply

